The Voice of the Railroad Construction Industry

Scholarship Program

Each year, the National Railroad Construction & Maintenance Association (NRC) proudly supports a number of scholarships for tuition assistance to children or grandchildren of employees of NRC member companies. 

Scholarships are awarded as follows: 

  • 1- First place award at $12,000

  • 2- Second place awards at $6,000 each

  • 3 - Third place awards at $3,000

Scholarship funds are sent directly to the student at the beginning of the next term of study. Students must be in attendance for a full year following receipt of the award.
To be eligible for consideration, an applicant must meet these qualifications:

  • Be a son, daughter, grandson, or granddaughter of a current employee of an NRC Member Company; and
  • Be enrolled at the time of application as a full-time college student at an accredited two-year college offering an associate's degree or an accredited four-year college or university offering a bachelor's degree, or as a recently graduated high school senior that is enrolled to start college the following fall.
  • Previous NRC Scholarship winners are eligible to apply for a scholarship if they still meet the requirements of 1 and 2 above.

View and download the application and rubric check list here.

Please make sure you reveiw all materials before submitting applications.  Any application deemed incomplete will NOT be graded or considered eligible for an award.
2019 APPLICATION DEADLINE - September 6, 2019

The NRC would like to acknowledge and thank those companies and individuals who contributed significant funds to initiate and support this valuable program:

Roadway Worker Training
ARS Corp.
RJ Corman
Scott Norman (Herzog)
Land Clearing Specialists, Inc.
Loram Maintenance of Way
Southeast Railroad Supply, Inc.
Danny Brown (V&H Trucks)
Joe Daloisio (Railroad Construction Co., Inc.)
Van R. Sorrells (Dixie Precast)
Richard & Nancy Zemencik
Thomas & Lyria Lee
William & Karen Tarvin



First Place - $12,000 Scholarship Award
Alexandria Puett, University of Nebraska
NRC member sponsor:  Herzog Contracting Corp.
Second Place - $6,000 Scholarship Award
Matthew Heron, Georgetown University
NRC member sponsor: Harsco Rail
Bailey Gerstner, Shorter University
NRC member sponsor:  Birmingham Rail

Third Place – $3,000 Scholarship Award
Andrew Chalon, Clemson University
NRC member sponsor: RT&S
Grace Bastyr, University of Alabama
NRC member sponsor:  Progressive Railroading
Madison Burnside, Purdue University
NRC member sponsor:  L.B. Foster

First Place - $12,000 Scholarship Award
Gavin Heller
Marquette University

NRC Member Sponsor: North Shore Track Services

Second Place - $6,000 Scholarship Award
Sarah Isdahl
University of Wisconsin - La Crosse

NRC Member Sponsor: Loram

Third Place - $3,000 Scholarship Award

Charlie Hauser
Western Washington University

NRC Member Sponsor: Stacy & Witbeck


First Place - $12,000 Scholarship Award
Matthew Heron
Georgetown University
NRC Member Sponsor: Harsco

Second Place - $6,000 Scholarship Award
Sarah Fletcher
University of Calgary
NRC Member Sponsor: L.B. Foster 

Third Place - $3,000 Scholarship Award
Connor Cazac
University of North Dakota
NRC Member Sponsor: Modern Railway Systems