NRC Announces 2023 Safe Contractor of the Year Award Winners

The National Railroad Construction and Maintenance Association (NRC) announced today the recipients of its 2023 “Safe Contractor of the Year” awards. The NRC recognized winning contractors for safety performance with platinum, gold and silver awards on January 4 at the NRC’s 2024 Conference in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Congratulations to the contractors detailed below for their exemplary efforts to promote and improve safety in the rail contracting industry.

Platinum Award Winners

  • 360 Railroad Services LLC
  • Ames Construction
  • Balfour Beatty Infrastructure
  • Capital Railroad Contracting
  • Herzog Contracting
  • Holland LP
  • L.K. Comstock National Transit
  • Modern Railway Systems
  • Queen City Railroad Construction
  • RailWorks Signals & Communications
  • RailWorks Track Services
  • RailWorks Track Systems
  • RailWorks Maintenance of Way
  • US Trackworks LLC

Gold Award Winners

  • American Track
  • Civil Works Contracting LLC
  • Coleman Industrial Construction
  • Frontier Railroad Services LLC
  • Herzog Railroad Services
  • Herzog Services
  • Herzog Technologies
  • Kraemer North America LLC
  • Loram Maintenance of Way
  • Loram Technologies
  • Musselman and Hall Contractors LLC
  • Nordco LLC
  • PCL Civil Constructors
  • R.J. Corman Railroad Services
  • RailWorks/L.K. Comstock-NY Transit
  • SEMA Construction
  • Skanska USA Civil West
  • Stacy Witbeck
  • Trans-Global Solutions

Silver Award Winners

  • G.W. Peoples Contracting
  • Harsco Rail
  • JJD Electric LLC
  • Martinus Bottom Line, LLC
  • PNR RailWorks
  • Ragnar Benson Construction
  • Railroad Construction Co. of So. Jersey
  • Railroad Constructors

Bronze Award Winners

  • American Rail Marketing
  • Curran Contracting Company
  • Delta Railroad Construction
  • Hafco Services
  • K.W. Reese, Inc.
  • Railroad Construction Co.

The NRC extends a  special thanks to Jordan Goff and Kevin Pomeroy of Commercial Insurance Associates for volunteering their time and expertise to coordinate the evaluation of the applicants. Applications were scored based on six criteria

  1. Workers’ Compensation Experience Rating
  2. OSHA Work-Related Injuries and Illnesses
  3. OSHA Statistics Violations
  4. Roadway Worker Protection Training
  5. Safety Program Elements
  6. Company Vehicle Accident Score 

“Congratulations to the 47 contractors recognized with platinum, gold, silver, and bronze awards. It was exhilarating to honor their significant achievement at the NRC’s annual conference in Scottsdale,” said Michael McGonagle, the NRC’s vice president of government affairs and operations. “Thank you to Messrs. Goff and Pomeroy for your continued dedication and hard work on scoring the applications.”

The NRC is a U.S. trade association that advances the mutual interests of railway contractors and suppliers who construct, maintain and supply freight railroads and rail-transit and passenger lines. Founded in 1978, the NRC connects members with other railway industry professionals and government officials and policy makers. The NRC collaborates with its members, government, and industry leaders to create a positive business climate and to make railway construction and maintenance safer and more efficient.

What our members say…

“The networking opportunities at the NRC annual conference are phenomenal! My company ended up with a $25 million contract that was cultivated from relationships forged at my very first NRC conference. And those networking opportunities continue today.”

Mike Choat

Vice President, Business Development, retired

Railroad Controls, Ltd., a Wabtec company

No items found.

KeeP up on our latest news