Safety awards

The NRC’s annual "Safe Contractor of the Year" Awards recognize contractor member companies with exemplary safety performance during the year. Applicants are objectively evaluated on six criteria:

  • Workers’ Compensation Experience Rating
  • OSHA work-related injuries and illnesses
  • OSHA statistics violations
  • Roadway Worker Protection training
  • Safety program elements
  • Company vehicle accident score.

Awards are given the following January at the NRC Annual Conference. Contractors who participate in the awards competition report it provides a means to evaluate and keep their safety programs up to date with industry best practices and also serves as a valuable business development and marketing tool.

  • Application – As a reference, here is the 2023 Safe Contractor of the Year Application.  The 2024 application will be posted in the fall. It includes the application, criteria, and submission instructions. Digital submissions are strongly encouraged.
  • Deadline – November 15, 2024

Prior Winners

KeeP up on our latest news

What our members say…

“For the FRA Part 219 and 243 implementation, the NRC was especially helpful for us in that they provide member companies guidance in how to comply with the ever-changing federal regulations. We also value the annual safety awards which we use to motivate our employees to uphold the highest level of safety as well as in business development materials.”

Dave Bergstrom

President, Civil/Rail

Ragnar Benson Construction, LLC.